I have had a few moments to reflect in the past little while about how we come to know the Lord better. I was thinking about the Martin-Willie handcart company and how it was a time to come to know the Lord more deeply. They become more committed to Him and to understanding how God felt about them. You may have heard the story with the old man who said,

“Was I sorry that I chose to come by handcart? No. Neither then nor any minute of my life since. The price we paid to become acquainted with God was a privilege to pay, and I am thankful that I was privileged to come in the Martin Handcart Company.” (You can read the full story here: Handcart Story).

This has led me to wonder about the times the Lord has allowed me to come to know Him better. Each time I have faced some difficulty He has shown me that He loves me and that He is always there for me. Sometimes I forget that and each time He reminds me. These moments when we experience the tender mercies of the Lord are truly tender moments. One such tender experience I had recently was words from the scriptures from a very inspired individual.

I was sitting in FHE  and my FHE mom, who is also a dear friend shared a scripture which was exactly what I needed to hear. In church the day before the same message had been whispered to me by the Spirit during Sacrament Meeting. As I heard her read the scripture (D&C 98:1-3) I was filled with gratitude as I heard the words of the Lord let me know His promises are sure.

I am grateful for moments of hardship and difficulty and I am even more grateful for inspired people and inspired words which bring tender moments.

-Sapphire

