So, from my title, you might be hoping for an answer. Maybe a single word. Like….socks. Life is all about socks. Hmm. No. (Though I do like socks—especially colorful wool ones! I don’t care much for toe socks as my toes are too short to reach the tips).

Let’s try again. Life is all about…love. Or, life is all about progress. Life is all about growth. Life is all about God. Well, maybe/probably what life is all about can’t be pinned down by a single phrase, but it’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately.

This month saw me turn the ripe old age of 22. Well, maybe not so ripe, or so old. But turning older made me ponder and think a lot. This year my birthday became a sort of personal New Year for me. A time for assessment, goals, and resolutions. It didn’t help that I went to my grandma’s 70th birthday bash and an IMAX about the universe both in my birthday weekend. It seemed like everything was pointing me toward reflection.

I really started asking myself if I’m doing what I should be with my life. Am I really using it well? Am I reaching my potential? Sitting in the IMAX, I started thinking: wow! I should have been an astronaut!

I graduated from college this past August and did well, so that was something good–but what’s next? I’m waiting to get into graduate school hopefully for a Masters in Social Work. What I’d really like is to start a family :) But I’ll have to be patient.

Anyway, I started getting in a trap of thinking that worldly success defines my potential. My extended family aren’t members and being around their friends and talking to them (though they are great people!) made me feel like my career defines my worth. I started thinking: should I have chosen a more prestigious career? But then I felt a sense of peace as I remembered the focus of the gospel: family. closeness to God. righteousness. service. obedience to Christ. loving God and our fellow human beings. Those are the true measures of success and those are my goals.

I think we can learn a lot through careers, but anything we learn should be a part of our spiritual progression–not a distraction from it. For example, through work we can learn how to be diligent, how to have patience, how to apply integrity, how to be creative, and how to persevere. In my career, I want to help people. That’s why I want to become a social worker. I believe people have so much potential and I want to help them achieve it. I’d love to work for LDS Family Services so that I can do this in the light of the Gospel.

So, I hope that wasn’t too rambly. I guess the conclusion is one I already new: “aBut bseek ye first the ckingdom of God, and his drighteousness; and all these ethings shall be fadded unto you.” (Matthew 6:38, check out the JST!) I shouldn’t worry so much about the unknown, but focus on following Christ everyday and living by His principles–and, as President Hinckley loved to say, everything will work out!

